Digital Edition

Breakbulk July 2018

Issue link: https://jocdigital.uberflip.com/i/1003922

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 31

4 The Journal of Commerce | July 2018 www.joc.com Editorial July 2018 Breakbulk and Project Cargo Janet Nodar But, as Stopford reminds me, all this too shall pass. I began writing about maritime trade and shipping as a freelancer for Gulf Shipper in early 2006. Pretty soon, I was covering the shipping news from the Texas-Mexico border to the tip of Florida. I wrote about ports, natural disasters (Katrina, anyone?), container shipping, vessels, services, dredging — and because I covered Houston, the US (maybe the world) center for project cargo, I learned all about project and breakbulk cargo transportation and logistics. In 2008, oil reached US$147 per barrel and the heavy-lift/ multipurpose vessel world was prac- tically on fi re. Good heavens, was it ever a carrier's market. Of course, we all know what happened in 2009. Interesting times. Gulf Shipper was one of several regional shipping magazines pub- lished by The Journal of Commerce back when people relied on printed sailing schedules. Eventually, all those schedules moved online, and The Journal of Commerce closed its regionals and folded them into one publication: Breakbulk. In 2009, I became Breakbulk's editor, and in 2011, senior editor. Then, as our Breakbulk trade exhibitions multiplied and grew, I became more involved with event programming, moving almost completely to the event side in 2013. The Journal of Commerce and Breakbulk Events & Media were sold separately in 2015, the JOC to IHS and BB to ITE Exhibitions. Now, and with some admittedly mixed feelings, I've said my goodbyes to Breakbulk and come back to The Journal of Commerce. I'm excited to be rejoining this esteemed company and talented editorial team. I'm certainly looking forward to more interesting times. IT'S AN INTERESTING time to be re- joining the editorial side of covering project and heavy-lift shipping. We're all familiar with that ancient Chinese curse, "May you live in in- teresting times" — which curse, nat- urally, is neither ancient nor Chinese — but no matter the expression's lineage, its irony is real enough. However, I've been studying my ratty copy of Stopford's Maritime Economics, and I'm reminded that shipping is everlastingly interesting. We're entering uncertain times for global trade, despite a robust US economy at the end of a long economic expansion, and even as fl eet consolidation and an upswing in freight rates allow the long-su er- ing heavy-lift/multipurpose vessel sector some breathing room. Normally, a rising price of oil like the one we're seeing would be a good sign for the sector, notwithstanding the concomitant rise in bunkers, because it implies increased capital investment and a growing project pipeline down the road. The careen- ing nature of current US trade and energy policies, however, appears to be slowing some decision-making on the shippers' side. News sources report a marginal slowdown in global trade growth. Tit- for-tat tari s will a ect only a sliver of this massive trade, at least for starters, but a climate of uncertainty is always bad for business. From soybean farm- ers to automakers, from steel traders to oil and gas majors, companies show a growing reluctance to make invest- ment decisions. Executive Editor, The Journal of Commerce and JOC Events: Chris Brooks 609 649 2181, chris.brooks@ihsmarkit.com Executive Editor, The Journal of Commerce and JOC.com: Mark Szakonyi 202 872 1234, mark.szakonyi@ihsmarkit.com Managing Editor: Barbara Wyker 908 777 3217, barbara.wyker@ihsmarkit.com Senior Editors: William B. Cassidy Trucking and Domestic Transportation 202 872 1228, bill.cassidy@ihsmarkit.com Bill Mongelluzzo West Coast 562 428 5999, bill.mongelluzzo@ihsmarkit.com Hugh Morley Northeast, Mexico 646 679 3475, hugh.morley@ihsmarkit.com Eric Johnson Technology 213 444 9326, eric.johnson@ihsmarkit.com Greg Knowler Europe Editor, Maritime & Trade, IHS Markit +44 7976798770, greg.knowler@ihsmarkit.com Turloch Mooney Global Ports, Maritime & Trade, IHS Markit +852 9011 9109, turloch.mooney@ihsmarkit.com Associate Editor: Ari Ashe Southeast Ports, Intermodal Rail 202 548 7895, ari.ashe@ihsmarkit.com Web Editor: Joseph Lazzaro 917 309 0148, joseph.lazzaro@ihsmarkit.com Data Analyst: Dustin Braden 646 679 3450, dustin.braden@ihsmarkit.com Senior Content Editor: Alessandra Gregory Barrett, 860 248 5238 alessandra.barrett@ihsmarkit.com Senior Designer: Sue Abt, 862 371 3534, sue.abt@ihsmarkit.com Designer: Bryan Boyd, 908 910 7849, bryan.boyd@ihsmarkit.com Publisher: Tony Stein, 770 295 8809, tony.stein@ihsmarkit.com Sales: Cindy Cronin, Strategic Account Manager Southeast, Gulf, Canada sales, 954 551 8305 Zachary Gorman, Account Executive Northeast, Illinois sales 646 679 3466 Jean Gibbons, Senior Sales Executive West Coast, Midwest sales, 706 469 7160 Ria Van den Bogaert, Sales Representative Europe, Middle East sales, +32 2 569 8905 Alex Remstein, Associate Sales Specialist Reprints/Classifieds/Copyrights, 646 679 3418 For Magazine Subscription Customer Service: www.joc.com/help 450 West 33rd St., 5th Floor, New York, N.Y. 10001 973 776 8660 • 800 952 3839 Executive Director, Editorial Content, Maritime & Trade, IHS Markit, Peter Tirschwell Executive Director, Media & Events, Maritime & Trade, IHS Markit, Amy Middlebrook Manager, Production, Carmen Verenna Product Manager, JOC, Jesse Case ©2018 The Journal of Commerce — All Rights Reserved For more information, visit our website, www.joc.com. Coming full circle Of course, we all know what happened in 2009. Interesting times.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Digital Edition - Breakbulk July 2018