Digital Edition

August 28 2023

Issue link: https://jocdigital.uberflip.com/i/1505799

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 22 of 55

August 28, 2023 | Journal of Commerce 23 www.joc.com Special Report Container Shipping Quarterly Journal of Commerce Top 40 Container Carriers by US Imports Ocean carrier 2023 Jan.-May US Imports Percentage change in Jan.-May 2023 2023 Website market From From From From Rank World, US headquarters share 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2019 2020 2021 2022 21 CULines 0.3% 56,362 24,392 -56.7% www.culines.com Shanghai, China 22 King Ocean Services 0.2% 18,617 17,168 21,072 24,288 21,436 15.1% 24.9% 1.7% -11.7% www.kingocean.com Doral, Fla. 23 World Direct Shipping 0.2% 12,136 15,556 20,317 24,967 21,030 73.3% 35.2% 3.5% -15.8% www.worlddirectshipping.com Palmetto, Fla. 24 Tropical Shipping 0.2% 16,368 14,289 15,839 19,520 18,785 14.8% 31.5% 18.6% -3.8% www.tropical.com Riviera Beach, Fla. 25 Tote Maritime 0.2% 18,660 15,341 19,007 19,018 18,172 -2.6% 18.5% -4.4% -4.5% www.totemaritime.com Jacksonville, Fla. 26 Turkon Line 0.2% 19,198 16,159 21,930 19,908 15,057 -21.6% -6.8% -31.3% -24.4% www.turkonamerica.com Istanbul; Secaucus, NJ 27 Seth Shipping Corp 0.1% 11,449 14,266 13,050 9,229 14,235 24.3% -0.2% 9.1% 54.2% www.sethshipping.com Victoria Mahe, Seychelles 28 Agriculture Investment Export Inc. 0.1% 21,123 19,878 16,931 11,725 12,304 -41.7% -38.1% -27.3% 4.9% www.agex.com Tegucigalpa, Honduras; Port Everglades, Fla. 29 Swire Shipping 0.1% 10 14,106 11,731 11,7214.0% -16.8% www.swireshipping.com Singapore 30 Linea Peninsular 0.1% 12,782 12,361 14,096 16,311 10,205 -20.2% -17.4% -27.6% -37.4% www.lineaships.com Panama City, Fla. 31 Trailer Bridge 0.1% 11,128 8,246 11,882 11,900 9,858 -11.4% 19.6% -17.0% -17.2% www.trailerbridge.com Jacksonville, Fla. 32 Eimskip 0.1% 5,671 5,311 6,148 7,476 8,993 58.6% 69.3% 46.3% 20.3% www.eimskip.com Reykjavik; Virginia Beach, Va. 33 Marine Express 0.1% 6,854 6,078 6,877 6,704 6,541 -4.6% 7.6% -4.9% -2.4% www.marinexpressinc.com Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep. 34 Priority Ro-Ro 0.1% 5,201 5,329 5,353 5,949 6,259 20.3% 17.5% 16.9% 5.2% www.priorityroro.com Mayaguez, Puerto Rico 35 Antillean Lines 0.1% 5,678 4,616 5,509 6,144 6,071 6.9% 31.5% 10.2% -1.2% www.antillean.com Miami 36 Transfar 0.1% 32,969 4,816 -85.4% www.etransfar.com Hangzhou, China 37 Westwood Shipping 0.0% 15,940 12,817 14,230 17,039 4,716 -70.4% -63.2% -66.9% -72.3% www.wsl.com Puyallup, Wash. 38 Spliethoff Transport 0.0% 3,657 1,880 1,934 3,892 3,660 0.1% 94.7% 89.2% -6.0% www.spliethoff.com Amsterdam; Cleveland 39 Atlantic Ro-Ro Carriers 0.0% 1,398 1,563 3,045 6,365 3,014 115.5% 92.8% -1.0% -52.7% www.cisnav.com Montreal; Hoboken, NJ 40 Polynesia Line 0.0% 2,211 1,962 2,486 2,325 2,994 35.4% 52.6% 20.4% 28.8% www.polynesialine.com San Rafael, Calif. TOTAL JOURNAL OF COMMERCE TOP 40 US IMPORT CARRIERS 99.4% 9,597,811 8,797,877 11,659,478 12,035,045 9,431,618 -1.7% 7.2% -19.1% -21.6% TOTAL US IMPORTS 100.0% 9,732,448 8,864,514 11,686,579 12,228,300 9,491,782 -2.5% 7.1% -18.8% -22.4% MARKET SHARE OF JOURNAL OF COMMERCE TOP 40 US IMPORT CARRIERS 98.6% 99.2% 99.8% 98.4% 99.4% *A.P. Møller-Maersk includes Maersk Line, Sealand, Safmarine, and Hamburg Süd. Source: S&P Global

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Digital Edition - August 28 2023