Digital Edition

May 12, 2014

Issue link: https://jocdigital.uberflip.com/i/311703

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 79

4 THE JOURNAL OF COMMERCE www.joc.com Editor's Letter ©2014 The Journal of Commerce — All Rights Reserved For more information, visit our Web site, www.joc.com. EXECUTIVE EDITOR Chris Brooks 973.776.7818 cbrooks@joc.com MANAGING EDITOR Barbara Wyker 973.776.7817 bwyker@joc.com SENIOR EDITORS Joseph Bonney, Finance and Economics 973.776.7809 jbonney@joc.com William B. Cassidy, Trucking and Domestic Transportation 202.499.2285 wcassidy@joc.com Bill Mongelluzzo, Trans-Pacific 562.428.5999 bmongelluzzo@joc.com Mark Szakonyi, Rail/Intermodal, Regulation, Policy 202.499.2295 mszakonyi@joc.com Greg Knowler, Asia +852 3975.2647 gknowler@joc.com SENIOR EDITOR, DIGITAL Harry G. Butler, 609.433.7215, hbutler@joc.com EDITOR-AT-LARGE Peter T. Leach, Trans-Atlantic 212.755.0940 pleach@joc.com RESEARCH EDITOR Marsha Salisbury 973.776.7828 msalisbury@joc.com ECONOMIST Mario O. Moreno 973.776.7850 mmoreno@joc.com SPECIAL PROJECTS EDITOR Alessandra Gregory Barrett 973.776.7808 abarrett@joc.com SPECIAL PROJECTS EDITOR, ASIA Annie Zhu +86 (21) 60396986 azhu@joc.com SENIOR DESIGNER Sue Abt, 973.776.7825, sabt@joc.com DESIGNER Bryan Boyd, 973.776.7827, bboyd@joc.com WEB PRODUCER David Pulis, 973.776.7807, dpulis@joc.com ASSOCIATE WEB EDITOR Grace M. Lavigne, 973.776.8506, glavigne@joc.com PUBLISHER Tony Stein California, Minnesota, Georgia sales, 678.456.8530 SALES Cindy Cronin, Senior Account Manager Pacific Northwest, Midwest, Gulf, Canada sales, 954.551.8305 Zachary Gorman, Account Executive Northeast sales, Classifieds/Reprints/Copyrights 973.776.7820 Greg March, Asia Director Asia, Europe sales, 852.2585.6119 For Magazine Subscription Customer Service: Domestic (Toll-Free): 877.675.4761 International: 847.763.4932 E-mail: JOC@halldata.com 2 Penn Plaza East, 12th Floor, Newark, N.J. 07105 973.776.8660 • 800.952.3839 CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER, Gavin Carter CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER, Rhiannon James EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT/CHIEF CONTENT OFFICER, Peter Tirschwell CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, Ian Blackman VP, PUBLICATIONS, Amy Middlebrook VP, HUMAN RESOURCES, Cindy Mevorah GENERAL MANAGER, Julia Murphy DIRECTOR, PRODUCTION, Carmen Verenna Joseph Bonney The Journal of Commerce (USPS 279 – 060), May 12, 2014, ISSN 1530-7557, Volume 15, Issue No. 10. The Journal of Commerce is published bi-weekly except the last week in December (printed 26 times per year) by JOC Group Inc. 2 Penn Plaza East, 12th Floor, Newark, N.J. 07105. Subscription price: $344 a year. Periodicals postage paid at Newark, N.J., and additional mailing offices. © All rights reserved. No portion of this publication may be copied or reprinted without written permission from the publisher. POSTMASTER: Please send address changes to The Journal of Commerce, Subscription Services Department, P.O. Box 1059, Skokie, IL 60076-8059. APRIL 30 WAS gray, gloomy and rainy in Newark, New Jersey — just the kind of day Conrad H.C. Everhard would have picked for a luncheon in his memory. "That's because it would be too wet to play golf," cracked Tom Adamski, vice president at First Coast Logistics, who emceed the event. Conrad Everhard, who died on Feb. 25 at 83, was anything but gray and gloomy. He was big, boisterous and joyful, an inveterate jokester and free spirit who spoke his mind, often with outrageous humor. He got away with things most folks wouldn't dare try. When he headed OOCL (USA), he often cracked wise about his dealings with the company's head - quarters in Hong Kong. "We have a relationship of trust and understand- ing," he said. "They don't trust me, and I can't understand them." For those who have joined the industry since Everhard retired in 1998, think container shipping 's version of Charles Barkley. Like the basketball star turned television commentator, Everhard was funny, irreverent and unpredictable, but deeply knowledgeable and a close student of his profession. Everhard's four-decade career spanned the period in which con- tainerized shipping took wing. He emigrated from Holland in the 1950s, graduated from Georgetown Univer- sity's School of Foreign Service and entered the industry with United States Lines. He later worked with the Massachusetts Port Authority and was CEO of Dart Container Line and OOCL (USA) and chairman of Cho Yang (USA). Mark Jaffe, executive partner at Hill, Betts & Nash, said Everhard often used outrageous remarks to make substantive points, and to laugh at the world and himself. "He was able to look at life with perspective and sense of humor," Jaffe said. Everhard relished a spirited debate. He staunchly supported rate-setting carrier conferences until their end, and mounted a vigorous but unsuccessful defense of them while serving on an early-1990s presiden- tial commission on the 1984 Shipping Act. Later, he questioned the wisdom of dredging U.S. harbors to handle gargantuan container ships. Adamski said Everhard could express an unpopular view, or skewer an adversary, "in a way that was not offensive and was humorous." Conrad E. Everhard., a New York attorney, said his late father epito- mized a now-extinct "Mad Men generation" of post-World War II shipping executives who cut deals over lunchtime martinis, cherished and nurtured personal relationships, and "created the import-export econ- omy we have today." That world has vanished along with the Whitehall Club and Downtown Athletic Club, two of Everhard's favorite Lower Manhattan watering holes. Today's shipping industry may be more effi- cient, but its participants don't have as much fun with it as Everhard did. No one was a more popular speaker at industry events. If a club or organization wanted to fill a hall with paying guests, all they had to do was invite Everhard. No one ever dozed off during one of his speeches. "I never saw a guy happier to get up in front of a crowd and give a talk," said Al D'Emelio, a retired Maher Ter- minals executive. "No matter what the subject was — container ships, row- boats, whatever — he had a nice way of leaving a wisecrack at the end, so the crowd would leave laughing." JOC MAY 12.2014 Conrad Left Them Laughing Conrad Everhard was big, boisterous and joyful, an inveterate jokester and free spirit who spoke his mind, often with outrageous humor.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Digital Edition - May 12, 2014