Digital Edition

Sept.5, 2016

Issue link: https://jocdigital.uberflip.com/i/719220

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 3 of 71

4 THE JOURNAL OF COMMERCE www.joc.com Editor's Letter Chris Brooks IN A CONTAINER shipping industry relatively short of innovation, Maersk Line stands out as progressive. At no time has this been more evident than over the past five years: While the rest of the industry has been losing billions of dollars a year, Maersk has been making billions. But even the world's best can hit a slump, and no one can fend off the worst storms forever. The U.S. women's soccer team didn't get past the quarterfi nals in Rio, after win- ning the gold medal in the previous three Olympics. Tiger Woods' top- pling from golf's mantle has been even more dramatic. And so it is with Maersk, the world's largest container shipping company, which lost $151 million in this year's second quarter despite rising volumes and record low unit costs, compared with a $507 mil- lion profi t a year earlier. Swept up by brutally low rates across all trades — pricing dropped 24 percent in the quarter for the Danish company — Maersk fi nally joined the rest of the industry in the fi nancial bloodletting. But like a cornered animal, Maersk is most dangerous when, well, it's cornered, and it never sits pat. Indeed, parent company Maersk Group — now led by Soren Skou, the Maersk Line CEO who now holds that title for both — has been under- going a strategic review since July, when Skou took over for the ousted Nils Andersen. When the company at the fore- front of some of container shipping's most aggressive innovations — slow- steaming, the development of the mega-vessel, even the consolida- tion trend sweeping the industry today — undergoes a strategic review, everyone from service providers and intermediaries to shipper custom- ers had better take notice. Because whatever the result, it likely will be big, decisive and potentially mar- ket-altering. Speculation centers a round the sell-off of terminal-operating unit APM Terminals and logistics business Damco. And with Maersk having significant interests in the fl agging energy industry, divestiture of those divisions shouldn't be ruled out, either. Skou, for one, is laser-focused on controlling costs and building growth. A sale of one or more units would free up cash to invest when the market turns. Maersk, after all, has been an aggressive buyer (Sea- Land, P&O Nedlloyd, Safmarine) and seller (Maersk Air, its Odense shipyard, liquefied petroleum gas and very-large crude carriers) over the past 15-plus years, and there's no reason to expect that to change. The company and Skou, in par- ticular, have been tight-lipped about the review. "The board has asked me to look at the strategic options. We are not starting with a lot of 'do nots,' or areas where we don't want to go," Skou said in July. "We are looking at a full menu of options." But he's also determined to deliver growth. "In the long term, it's important that we have a group that is both profi table but also has a growth path," he told The Financial Times. And container shipping — Maersk Group's core business and its largest unit — is about as far from a growth path as it's ever been, though there are signs that it may be recovering as spot rates in the main east-west trades bounce off spring's rock-bot- tom levels. Perhaps the biggest sign that the industry is on the brink of recovery is Maersk hitting rock bottom itself. Come the end of September, expect the industry's most progressive com- pany to respond, and in a big way. JOC BEWARE a Wounded Maersk The Journal of Commerce (USPS 279 – 060), ISSN 1530-7557, September 5, 2016, Volume 17, Issue No. 18. The Journal of Commerce is published bi-weekly except the last week in December (printed 26 times per year) by JOC Group Inc. 2 Penn Plaza East, 12th Floor, Newark, N.J. 07105. Subscription price: $344 a year. Periodicals postage paid at Newark, N.J., and additional mailing offi ces. © All rights reserved. No portion of this publication may be copied or reprinted without written permission from the publisher. POSTMASTER: Please send address changes to The Journal of Commerce, Subscription Services Department, 2 Penn Plaza East, Floor 12, Newark, N.J. 07105-2257. SEPTEMBER 5.2016 EXECUTIVE EDITOR, THE JOURNAL OF COMMERCE AND JOC EVENTS Chris Brooks 973 776 7818 chris.brooks@ihsmarkit.com MANAGING EDITOR Barbara Wyker 973 776 7817 barbara.wyker@ihsmarkit.com EXECUTIVE EDITOR, JOC.COM Mark Szakonyi 202 872 1234 mark.szakonyi@ihsmarkit.com SENIOR EDITORS Joseph Bonney, Breakbulk/Project Cargo, Gulf Coast 973 508 2417 joseph.bonney@ihsmarkit.com William B. Cassidy, Trucking and Domestic Transportation 202 872 1228 bill.cassidy@ihsmarkit.com Bill Mongelluzzo, West Coast 562 428 5999 bill.mongelluzzo@ihsmarkit.com Hugh Morley, Northeast, Mexico 973 776 7811 hugh.morley@ihsmarkit.com Greg Knowler, Asia Editor, IHS Maritime & Trade +852 3975 2647 greg.knowler@ihsmarkit.com Turloch Mooney, Global Ports, IHS Maritime & Trade +852 9011 9109 turloch.mooney@ihsmarkit.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Reynolds Hutchins, Intermodal, Government/Regulation, Southeast Ports 202 572 1487 reynolds.hutchins@ihsmarkit.com RESEARCH EDITOR Marsha Salisbury 973 776 7828 marsha.salisbury@ihsmarkit.com ASSISTANT WEB EDITOR Dustin Braden 973 776 8652 dustin.braden@ihsmarkit.com ECONOMIST Mario O. Moreno 973 776 7850 mario.moreno@ihsmarkit.com SENIOR CONTENT EDITOR Alessandra Gregory Barrett 860 248 5238 alessandra.barrett@ihsmarkit.com SENIOR DESIGNER Sue Abt, 973 776 7825 sue.abt@ihsmarkit.com DESIGNER Bryan Boyd, 973 776 7827 bryan.boyd@ihsmarkit.com PUBLISHER Tony Stein 770 295 8809, tony.stein@ihsmarkit.com SALES Cindy Cronin, Strategic Account Manager Southeast, Gulf, Canada sales, 954 551 8305 Zachary Gorman, Account Executive Northeast sales, Classifi eds/Reprints/Copyrights 973 776 7820 Misty Belser, Senior Sales Executive 919 869 7404 Ria Van den Bogaert, Sales Representative Europe, Middle East sales, +32 2 569 8905 Bon Kwok, Sales Representative Asia sales, +852 31707373 For Magazine Subscription Customer Service: www.joc.com/help 2 Penn Plaza East, 12th Floor, Newark, N.J. 07105 973 776 8660 • 800 952 3839 MANAGING DIRECTOR, MEDIA AND EVENTS, IHS MARITIME & TRADE, Rhiannon James SENIOR DIRECTOR, CONTENT, IHS MARITIME & TRADE, Peter Tirschwell DIRECTOR, JOC AND RAILRESOURCE, IHS MARITIME & TRADE, Amy Middlebrook MANAGER, PRODUCTION, Carmen Verenna MARKETING PROGRAMS MANAGER, PIERS AND JOC, Jesse Case ©2016 The Journal of Commerce — All Rights Reserved For more information, visit our website, www.joc.com.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Digital Edition - Sept.5, 2016