Digital Edition

Jan.9, 2017

Issue link: https://jocdigital.uberflip.com/i/764565

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 4 of 139

www.joc.com THE JOURNAL OF COMMERCE 3 50 MARITIME NEW ALLIANCES TO TURN THE TIDE Ports, terminals, carriers, and shippers are preparing for signifi cant challenges that will come from this spring's shuffl ing of VSAs. IN SURVIVAL MODE As fewer carriers ply the trans-Pacifi c, shippers may opt for higher rates to avoid risk. ARMING FOR GROWTH Carrier consolidations, new alliances, bigger ships, and effi ciency challenges put US ports on high alert. BREAKING THE BANK Overcapacity and too-low rates dog breakbulk carriers. More of the same is expected this year. 92 SURFACE TRANSPORTATION TRUCKING TURNS A CORNER After enjoying pricing power for much of 2016, over-the-road shippers are preparing to pay more in the coming year. AT A CROSSROADS Struggling with listless domestic and intermodal demand, railroads are looking for a spark to turn around a buyer's market. 108 AIR CARGO AIR CARGO'S BELLYACHE Freight volumes are growing, but surging passenger demand is increasing bellyhold capacity that carriers are having trouble fi lling. 114 LOGISTICS MYSTERY AND MYSTIQUE After a rocky 2016, 3PLs face a year of uncertainty when President Trump takes on trade and infrastructure. LOOKING INLAND Tight vacancy rates and soaring prices at prime locations are forcing shippers to shift their focus to secondary industrial real estate markets. CONTENTS 2017 ANNUAL REVIEW & OUTLOOK The Journal of Commerce (USPS 279 – 060), ISSN 1530-7557, January 9, 2017, Volume 18, Issue No. 1. The Journal of Commerce is published bi-weekly except the last week in December (printed 26 times per year) by JOC Group Inc. 2 Penn Plaza East, 12th Floor, Newark, N.J. 07105. Subscription price: $595 a year. Periodicals postage paid at Newark, N.J., and additional mailing offi ces. © All rights reserved. No portion of this publication may be copied or reprinted without written permission from the publisher. POSTMASTER: Please send address changes to The Journal of Commerce, Subscription Services Department, 2 Penn Plaza East, Floor 12, Newark, N.J. 07105-2257. EXECUTIVE EDITOR, THE JOURNAL OF COMMERCE AND JOC EVENTS Chris Brooks 973 776 7818 chris.brooks@ihsmarkit.com MANAGING EDITOR Barbara Wyker 973 776 7817 barbara.wyker@ihsmarkit.com EXECUTIVE EDITOR, JOC.COM Mark Szakonyi 202 872 1234 mark.szakonyi@ihsmarkit.com SENIOR EDITORS Joseph Bonney, Breakbulk/Project Cargo, Gulf Coast 973 508 2417 joseph.bonney@ihsmarkit.com William B. Cassidy, Trucking and Domestic Transportation 202 872 1228 bill.cassidy@ihsmarkit.com Bill Mongelluzzo, West Coast 562 428 5999 bill.mongelluzzo@ihsmarkit.com Hugh Morley, Northeast, Mexico 973 776 7811 hugh.morley@ihsmarkit.com Greg Knowler, Asia Editor, IHS Maritime & Trade +852 3975 2647 greg.knowler@ihsmarkit.com Turloch Mooney, Global Ports, IHS Maritime & Trade +852 9011 9109 turloch.mooney@ihsmarkit.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Reynolds Hutchins, Intermodal, Government/Regulation, Southeast Ports 202 572 1487 reynolds.hutchins@ihsmarkit.com RESEARCH EDITOR Marsha Salisbury 973 776 7828 marsha.salisbury@ihsmarkit.com ASSISTANT WEB EDITOR Dustin Braden 973 776 8652 dustin.braden@ihsmarkit.com SENIOR ECONOMIST, IHS MARITIME & TRADE Mario O. Moreno 973 776 7850 mario.moreno@ihsmarkit.com SENIOR CONTENT EDITOR Alessandra Gregory Barrett 860 248 5238 alessandra.barrett@ihsmarkit.com SENIOR DESIGNER Sue Abt, 973 776 7825 sue.abt@ihsmarkit.com DESIGNER Bryan Boyd, 973 776 7827 bryan.boyd@ihsmarkit.com PUBLISHER Tony Stein 770 295 8809, tony.stein@ihsmarkit.com SALES Cindy Cronin, Strategic Account Manager Southeast, Gulf, Canada sales, 954 551 8305 Zachary Gorman, Account Executive Northeast sales, Classifi eds/Reprints/Copyrights 973 776 7820 Misty Belser, Senior Sales Executive 919 869 7404 Ria Van den Bogaert, Sales Representative Europe, Middle East sales, +32 2 569 8905 For Magazine Subscription Customer Service: www.joc.com/help 2 Penn Plaza East, 12th Floor, Newark, N.J. 07105 973 776 8660 • 800 952 3839 MANAGING DIRECTOR, MEDIA AND EVENTS, IHS MARITIME & TRADE, Rhiannon James SENIOR DIRECTOR, CONTENT, IHS MARITIME & TRADE, Peter Tirschwell DIRECTOR, JOC AND RAILRESOURCE, IHS MARITIME & TRADE, Amy Middlebrook MANAGER, PRODUCTION, Carmen Verenna MARKETING PROGRAMS MANAGER, PIERS AND JOC, Jesse Case ©2017 The Journal of Commerce — All Rights Reserved For more information, visit our website, www.joc.com. ■ DEPARTMENTS 50 92 114 108

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Digital Edition - Jan.9, 2017